Ode to Footprints in the Sand

Ode to Footprints in the Sand
Scott David James
Circa June 2013

I thought silence was my friend
But instead I find it follows me
Deep inside my head

I woke tonight on skittered skates
The ice seems really thin
I pray for who I need to be
To guide me through my sin

Dear God,
I’m me
I’ve faith in you
Will you the same for me?
Can my brother’s be akin?

Come catch me, please
A parachute
Come bless my bones and skin

Settle into me and calm my din
Make peace for me within

These simple things I ask of thee
I’ll do the best I can
You’ve walked with me, remarkably
Your feet upon the sand

This entry was posted in Poetry, Spritual. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

