It Used To Be

It Used To Be
Scott David James
Circa 2013

It used to be
When i couldn’t see my way through the trees
I’d weave my way with words

It seems absurd to think
That through the stink
I’d find hope within myself

Perhaps it wasn’t hope
But surely i could cope
Once i layed it all to waste

It’s not without haste
I’d clip and paste
And string together verbs

My subjects range from love and hate
To things i’ve known or can’t relate
But nonetheless it’s worked

So here i am, once again
Tracing way in verse, my friend
Yet still i feel uncalm

It used to be
I could see the trees
But now the forest burns

This entry was posted in musings, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

